King-Seeley Water Temp & Fuel Gauges 🙄

Home Page Forums Engine King-Seeley Water Temp & Fuel Gauges 🙄

• This topic has 15 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 3 years ago by .
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Hi Folks:

I’m relatively new to the P-A world, not yet an owner, and this weekend I am going to preview and drive a couple of possibilities that I’ve been eyeing. While I’ve had early Packards, Cadillacs and others, never a Pierce. So, I’ve not had any experience with the the K-S manometer-type gauges.

In one (or perhaps both?) of these cars, I understand that the temp and fuel gauges aren’t working. From what I’ve read, it sounds as if the K-S fuel level indicator, when it does actually function, it’s a clear sign to purchase a lottery ticket! But, how about the temp gauge? Same story? I haven’t found any info that would help to diagnose it.

I’ll accept direction on either of the gauges, although the temperature indicator would be the one I’d want to tackle first.

Oh, one more question, for now – what are the ‘typical’ engine cooling system operating temperatures on a S-8 and a V-12 Pierce?

Thanks,
    =Adam=

Adam,

What years are the cars you are looking at?

Welcome and good luck with your search.

Bill

The water temp gauge is more likely to work, unlike the fuel gauge it is a sealed system and as long as the seals are good it should work. The dye in the fluid may have disappeared making it hard to read. The solder joints connecting the tubing are a bit delicate and easy to lose the seal.

I had mine repaired for a modest cost by the “The Temperature Gauge Guy” several years ago but at the time he was hoping to retire and pass the business to someone else, I don’t know the current status.