How to get IRS deductions on a car collection?

Home Page Forums General How to get IRS deductions on a car collection?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

How to get IRS deductions on a car collection?   We have 39 cars and insured at $3,150,000. We use them in movies and weddings.

My CPA does not have a clue about this except he thinks I need to get a tax attorney and something about a “Charitable Remainder Trust.” I am planning to pay for expertise. This is not an a Do It Yourself.

I am in Atlanta GA.

[email protected], 404-941-6454

Bill, I see you have no forum replies.  I’m no expert on the subject, but have looked into the same thing in the past, and will offer some opinions.  Worth nothing, just talking.

I looked up a “Charitable Remainder Trust”, and I don’t think that’s any help at all.

At one time I looked at setting up my collection as a business (since I did buy and sell cars occasionally).  You can do that, and deduct expenses and other things, BUT you DO have to buy and sell cars. If set up as a business you HAVE to show a profit, I think it’s 2 out of the first 5 years, or the IRS will not accept it as a business.

Same with using cars for weddings and events, you must get paid for it and show a profit, possible but difficult.

Purely as a hobby, there’s not much you can do tax-wise, other than treat the cars as capital investments.  Thus, capital gain and loss rules apply on taxes.  Of course, to do that, very clean records must be kept on each car, no “cash on the hood” deals!

Just my opinion, none of above is legal advice.  Good luck!  David C.

Thank you, David,

It seems that you cannot deduct expenses only if you have income from cars.
    Weddings, Events, movies, renting a car to someone, and get paid. That and only that income can be expensed, against car-related expenses.