27 series 80 radiator losing water

Home Page Forums Engine 27 series 80 radiator losing water

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

I am new to my 27 series 80 roadster and now that the hot weather is here, it is giving me trouble!  On hot days, temp over 95, and at speeds over 45 mph,  the motometer will read in the middle of the gauge and then shoot up to the top.  When checking the radiator, I find that the water level is very low when only a few minutes earlier the level was just fine.  In trying to determine where the water went, it appears that it is being pumped out of the radiator via the overflow pipe.  When I rev the engine, I see a large discharge of water from the overflow pipe.  How do I keep the water in the radiator?

Rod Smith

Reno NV

Rod,

On my Pierces the overflow is a couple of inches below the top of the radiator neck.  I found that when driving at speed I was pumping a lot of water out the overflow.  I took an appropriate size piece of fuel hose and slid it over the over flow so that the open end is just below the radiator cap up inside the radiator neck.  It made a big difference.

Also, if you are running anti-freeze, in non pressurized systems it tends to foam and go out the overflow. I use water with and anti-corrosive (Pencool 3000).  NAPA has something similar.

It also may be time for a radiator flush. There is an article in the PASB sometime in the last couple of years about using Evapo-Rust to clean the cooling system, as well as reverse flushing the radiator.

Dave

Hello Rod.  This is a common problem with the Pierce cooling systems, actually with non-pressurized cooling systems.

The water pump in a Series 80 can pump about 100-120 gallons per minute.  Think about that: two 55 gallon drums of water per minute!  That’s a lot of water flow..

BUT a fresh, clean Series 80 radiator can only flow about 50-60 gallons per minute.. So, the radiator is a ‘choke-point’ in the flow to water through the cooling system..